Chalmers Drivers & Trophies

This image of an array of trophies accumulated by the Chalmers race team and the drivers also pictured was originally published in the Sunday, March 20, 1910 Indianapolis Star. It was part of  a special supplemental section about the upcoming March 28 Indianapolis Automobile Show presented by the Indianapolis Automobile Trade Association (IATA). Key features of the event were the Floral Parade, contests at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and concluding banquet at the Denison Hotel.
The copy associated with the image read as follows: "During the last two years, the best in the history of motor car racing and contests, the Chalmers car, which is handled here by S.W. Elston, has won its lion's share of the honors. The main drivers are (from left to right) Joe Matson, Billy Knipper, Lee Lorimer and Bert Dingley. Among the principal trophies won are the Indiana, Massapequa, Merrimac Valley, Chandler, Wemme and Motor Marathon."

Chalmers_Trophies.jpg1.52 MB