Mauri Rose, 1941

This is David Story's rendering of 1941 Indianapolis 500 winner Mauri Rose in the Noc-Out Hose Clamp Special he shared with driver Floyd Davis. This was the second and last time two drivers were credited as co-winners. This was because Davis started the race, but car owner Lou Moore yanked him from his seat after his other car, a Maserati that Rose started from pole, failed. The other co-winners were Joe Boyer and L.L. Corum in 1924. Boyer replaced Corum in that race. Neither Corum nor Davis ever led a lap in the races they are credited with winning, nor in any other Indianapolis 500. They are the answer to the trivia question, "Which Indianapolis 500 winners never led a lap of the Indianapolis 500?"
Wilbur Shaw in the Mike Boyle Maserati. Shaw was the historic race's first three-time champion, winning the grueling contest in 19371939 and 1940. Less well known is that Shaw not only won the "500" three times but also finished in the runner-up spot the same number of times ('33, '35, '38). Find a great story on the 1937 race elsewhere on First Super Speedway. Shaw appeared to be on his way to his third consecutive "500" victory (and his career fourth) in 1941 when a tire failed and he hit the wall.
The following is the text of David's margin notes:
"Two-time defending champion Wilbur Shaw crashed on lap 152. The crash ended Shaw's attempt to be the first three-peat winner of the Indy 500. A win in 1941 would also have made him the first four-time winner of the race. Shaw was leading the race with only 48 laps to go when he lost control of his car and hit the outside wall, rupturing his gas tank. Shaw was drenched in fuel. Luckily the fuel never ignited. Shaw never drove another competitive lap at the Speedway again.
1941 was the last time the Indy 500 was to have two winners. Mauri Rose qualified his Maserati on the pole at a speed of 128.691 mph. Rex Mays and Wilbur Shaw lined up with him on the front row. Rose led early in the race but was eventually sidelined with carburetor problems. Floyd Davis started the race driving the Noc-Out Hose Clamp Special, number 16 car. But as the race progressed car owner, Lou Moore, became unhappy with Davis' performance. So Moore replaced Davis with Rose on lap 72. Rose charged through the field moving from twelfth to first place on lap 152, after Wilbur Shaw's crash and went on to win his first Indy 500."

1941 Indy 500 copy.jpg359.01 KB