Rose - Davis 1941

This is David Story's rendering of 1941 Indianapolis 500 winner Mauri Rose in the Noc-Out Hose Clamp Special he shared with driver Floyd Davis. This was the second and last time two drivers were credited as co-winners. This was because Davis started the race, but car owner Lou Moore yanked him from his seat after his other car, a Maserati that Rose started from pole, failed. The other co-winners were Joe Boyer and L.L. Corum in 1924Boyer replaced Corum in that race. Neither Corum nor Davis ever led a lap in the races they are credited with winning, nor in any other Indianapolis 500. They are the answer to the trivia question, "Which Indianapolis 500 winners never led a lap of the Indianapolis 500?"
Wilbur Shaw in the Mike Boyle Maserati. Shaw was the historic race's first three-time champion, winning the grueling contest in 19371939 and 1940. Less well known is that Shaw not only won the "500" three times but also finished in the runner-up spot the same number of times ('33, '35, '38). Find a great story on the 1937 race elsewhere on First Super Speedway. Shaw appeared to be on his way to his third consecutive "500" victory (and his career fourth) in 1941 when a tire failed and he hit the wall.

1941 (2).jpg650.56 KB