Uniontown Speedway Racers

A line up of race cars at Uniontown Speedway in 1916. The track was a 1.125-mile board track constructed six years after the first wood plank auto racing venue, Playa Del Rey. It was in operation until 1922. This meant that it was active during the World War I era when the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, which held its last pre-war event, the Harvest Classic, in September 1916 and did not return until the 1919 Indianapolis 500.
During its years of operation Uniontown held as many as three "Big Car" races each year. Top-name drivers competed - Jimmy Murphy, Tommy Milton, Roscoe Sarles, Louis Chevrolet, Ralph Mulford, Gaston Chevrolet and Joe Boyer- scoring victories.

UtownSpeedwaycars1916.jpg45.92 KB