Aitken's Victory! (1910)

This image of driver Johnny Aitken taking the checkered flag ahead of competitors orginally appeared as a photo in the May 29, 1910 Indianapolis Star. The photo supported an article reporting on the race results for the second day of racing (May 28) for the May 1910 race meet at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. These races were part of the Memorial Day Weekend that included "national championships," a newly-announced distinction by the American Automobile Association (AAA) for select race meets. Car manufacturers were keen to make a great showing. 
Check out other articles that provide additional summaries on the results of the races staged the previous day (May 27). You can also find an article published May 28 that set the stage for the day's program elsewhere on First Super Speedway.
The Star ran several articles on racing at the new Brickyard the previous day. I suggest you reference them to attain a more complete picture of this incredible day of racing.

This specific image is of the start of a 10-mile stock car sprint race Aitken won on Saturday, May 28 in his National Motor Vehicle Company entry. Check out this National ad that summarizes all of their success in the first two days of the race meet. The first wheel-to-wheel competiton of the day was  for Ten Miles, Stock Chassis, 301 to 450 cubic inches. According to AAA rules this was Class B, Division 4, minimum weight 2,000 pounds. Johnny Aitken (National "40") won; Ray Harroun (Marmon "32") second; Charlie Merz (National "40") third, Tom Kincaid (National) fourth and Leigh Lynch in the Jackson fifth. The winning time: 8:08.9. It is interesting to note that if you take a careful look at the other articles reporting on the May 28 races there are slight discrepancies in the times. Check them out - it's not huge but worth noting for accuracy.
The race turned out to be a battle of Indianapols-built cars from National Motor Vehicle Company and Nordyke & Marmon. Marmon's Joe Dawson led the first lap but his car failed in the second. Kincaid inherited the top spot in lap two but faded. Eventual winner Aitken proved most consistent. He ran in second place the first two laps and then led the last two.

AitkenWin.jpg1.14 MB