Wheeler-Schebler Trophy Start (1910)

This image of the start of the 1919 Wheeler-Scehbler Trophy race start orginally appeared as a photo in the May 29, 1910 Indianapolis Star. The photo supported an article reporting on the race results for the second day of racing (May 28) for the May 1910 race meet at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. These races were part of the Memorial Day Weekend that included "national championships," a newly-announced distinction by the American Automobile Association (AAA) for select race meets. Car manufacturers were keen to make a great showing. 
The fifth, final and feature race of the day was the $10,000 Wheeler-Schebler Trophy. The first three finishers were:  Ray Harroun (Marmon "Wasp"); Leigh Lynch (Jackson); Johnny Aitken (National "60"). Winning time: 2:46.31.00. This was a new American speedway record for the distance. 
I know this image is of poor quality but consider the information it yields. Take a gander at the two buildings standing approximately where the Pagoda imposes shadows today. I believe one was for judges and the other for newspaper reporters. Regardless, if you fill in the blanks with your imagination it provides another vantage point to how it once was, so glorious. Note the flags fluttering atop the roofs. Splendid.
Check out other articles that provide additional summaries on the results of the races staged the previous day (May 27). You can also find an article published May 28 that set the stage for the day's program elsewhere on First Super Speedway.
The Star ran several articles on racing at the new Brickyard the previous day. I suggest you reference them to attain a more complete picture of this incredible day of racing.

WheelerStart.jpg1.81 MB