Ira Cobe

Ira Cobe was the president of the Chicago Auto Club in the early part of the 20th Century. He is probably best remembered in motor racing circles as the founder of the Cobe Trophy which was won by Louis Chevrolet in 1909 at a public roads course in northwestern Indiana between the cities of Crowne Point and Lowell. In 1910 the trophy moved to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and won by Joe Dawson.

Ira Cobe.png817.39 KB