Chevrolet a Winner in Ira Cobe Trophy Race

This content was originally published in the June 19, 1909 edition of the The Lake County Times in the Chicago area. The articles provide terrific coverage of the Ira Cobe Trophy. Dubbed the "Vanderbilt of the West" by the press, the trophy was commissioned by Ira M. Cobe, president of Chicago Automobile Association. The American Automobile Association (AAA) was founded in Chicago in 1902.
Like many early American road races, this event was more akin to an off-road contest by today's standards. It was held on a 23.27-mile course of rugged terrain charted in and around the area of Crown Point, Indiana. America's public roads were deplorable at the time, and what passed for roads were little more than pathways worn by trailblazers. The race was 17 circuits or nearly 396 miles. This rough, craggy terrain tortured the cars as attrition took a big toll. The winner was Louis Chevrolet, whose Buick stumbled across the line with only three of four cylinders still functioning. You can find Indianapolis Star coverage of this event elsewhere on First Super Speedway.

Ira_Cobe_Louis_Chevrolet.pdf1.4 MB