Cobe Trophy Winner - Chevrolet

This image of Louis Chevrolet in his Buick was lifted from a PDF of the Indianapolis Star's coverage of the 1909 Ira Cobe Trophy, named after the cup donor Ira M. Cobe. These races were organized by the Chicago Auto Club with American Automobile Association (AAA) sanction. The race course was over notoriously poor public roads in northwestern Indiana between Crown Point, Indiana and Lowell, Indiana while skirting the community of Cedar Lake. For the results of these races check out additional information elsewhere on First Super Speedway. Chevrolet won the race. For additional coverage of this historic event - the first major auto race in the American mid-west, check out The Automobile's outstanding account.
Note that the title above the photo that reads, "winner and car that came in second" is confusing in this context. The reference to the car that came in second is to the Knox driven by William "Billy" Bourque. A photo of Borque and his second place finishing car also appeared on the newspaper page which was published June 20, 1909.

Chevrolet_Cobe_Winner.png3.58 MB