Unsung Heroes of the Indianapolis 500

This is the story of the unsung heroes of the Indianapolis 500; men who drove relief for the winning car. Setting aside co-winners Mauri Rose (1941) and Joe Boyer (1924), four men contributed to Indy 500 victory in relative anonymity. Most interesting of these was perhaps Howdy Wilcox, who won the race for himself in 1919. In 1923 he drove relief for Tommy Milton, who went on to become the first two-time winner of the world's greatest race. Norman Batten helped Peter DePaolo win in 1925 and Don Herr relieved winner Joe Dawson in 1912. The first winning relief driver came along in the first Indy 500 in 1911, when Cyrus Patschke spotted Ray Harroun. These are the stories behind men who played key roles in the 500, not just their moment of glory at the Speedway, but an overview of their lives as well.

Indianapolis_Relief_Drivers_Patschke_Herr_Batten.pdf6.96 MB