Wheeler-Schebler Trophy - Original Deed

This was an excellent find. It is a copy of Frank Wheeler and George Schebler's original deed for the Wheeler-Schebler Trophy. The $10,000 trophy was commissioned by Wheeler-Schebler Carburetor Company and designed by Tiffany. The seven-foot tall sterling silver masterpiece was the traveling trophy for winning the premiere events of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway's race meets in 1909 and 1910. The Trophy was retired briefly with the introduction of the Indianapolis 500 in 1911, but reinstated in 1913 as the prize for the team leading at the 400-mile mark. As the deed stipulates that the trophy would be permanently awarded to the team winning it for three consecutive years, it was presented to driver turned entrant Harry Hartz when his Miller-Hartz cars won the award in 1930, 31 and 32. It was returned to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in the 1950's and stands proudly today at the Speedway's Hall of Fame Museum.

Wheeler-Schebler_Trophy.pdf241.57 KB