Oldfield, Dawson Wreck in Wheeler-Schebler

This collection was published the morning of the final day of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway's important May 1910 race meet. This covers the 200-mile Wheeler-Schebler Trophy race, which was won by Ray Harroun. A big focus of this meet was safety as the newly paved Brickyard was a response to the deadly first meet at the Speedway in August 1909. Both Barney Oldfield (Knox) and Joe Dawson (Marmon) had incidents, but fortunately, neither was injured.

star053010_02.pdf10.47 MB