Wheeler-Schebler Trophy to Harroun!

The attachments below contain articles from the May 30, 1910 Indianapolis Sun that report on the May 28 Wheeler-Schebler 200-mile race of the May 1910 race meet at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. This race meet included "national championships," a newly-announced distinction by the American Automobile Association (AAA) for select race meets. Car manufacturers were keen to make a great showing. Check out other articles that provide additional summaries on the results of the races staged May 27 and May 28 elsewhere on First Super Speedway.
The first article (HarrounSun053010) reports that the Wheeler-Schebler Trophy started with a field of 20 cars and that the winner, Ray Harroun in his Marmon Wasp set new speed "world's records" for 150 and 200 miles. Leigh Lynch in the Jackson entry was second with National Motor Vehicle Company driver Johnny Aitken third. Arthur Chevrolet, in a Buick, recorded one of his most impressive runs at IMS by coming home fourth. Harroun's winning time was two hours, 46 minutes and 31 seconds.
Buick's star drivers Louis Chevrolet and Bob Burman stormed to the front at the onset but fell to the wayside as the race wore on. The article corroborates other reports that Harroun took a deliberate, steady approach with his race strategy. One inconsistency from other reports I have seen is that according to this article Harroun pitted for a tire change. Other reports say he did not change any tires and I am inclined to believe them. In all, this article is lacking in details.
Although the article is unclear during which event accidents occurred it reports on wrecks for both Joe Dawson (Marmon) and Herb Lytle (American). I know from other sources these incidents took place during the Wheeler-Schebler Trophy. Speedway management apparently ordered sand scattered on the track during the 200-mile race in an effort to soak up oil and provide grip for tires.
Other events of the day are covered as well. The first contest was mile time trials and results are provided with the drivers listed probably in the order they appeared on the track:

The second event was a 10-mile stock car race for cars with engines of 301 to 450 cubic inches. This was won by Aitken with Harroun in second. Another National driver, Charlie Merz, finished third. The winning time was 8:03.30.
Barney Oldfield is reported as the winner of the five-mile stock car competition for racers with 451 to 600 cubic-inch engines. He reportedly set a record-breaking time of 4:04:24. 
Howdy Wilcox won a free-for-all handicap in what the article says was only his second professional race. He was another National driver. Lynch, again in his Jackson, was second with Cutting driver Clark (Could be George, but first name not provided) third. The winning time was 10:55:33.
The second article - quite brief - (IMSRecords053010) was published in the same newspaper, The Indianapolis Sun, on the same day (May 30) as the article also attached here. Although this article asserts expectations for the day - that there would be larger crowds and speed records - it essentially summarizes the highlights of the same race, the Wheeler Schebler Trophy, that the article contained in the other attachment found here does. 
Harroun's record time for the 200-mile distance is reported as 2 hours, 46 minutes and 47.7 seconds. We also learn that was 17.47 seconds faster than Louis Chevrolet's previous record for the same distance set in Atlanta earlier in the month. Harroun was also on record pace at 150 miles with a 2:02:16.0 time that translated to a speed of 73.62 mph. He backed off the throttle ever so slightly for the remaining 50 miles to average 72.10 mph for the full distance.

HarrounSun053010.pdf140.27 KB
IMSRecords053010.pdf172.12 KB